1. Why do employees who sell or serve alcohol need to be certified?
- RCW 66.20.300 through 66.20.350 set up a mandatory alcohol server training program. These laws require persons who serve, mix, sell, or supervise the service of, alcohol for on-premises consumption to hold one of two permits (Class 12 or Class 13). You must complete the server training program and pass an exam to obtain a permit.
2. Who needs to get certified?
- Anyone who serves, mixes, sells or supervises the service of alcohol of on-premises consumption. If the person is 18-20 years of age and completes the course and exam, they will receive a Class 13 permit. If the person is 21 or over and completes the course and exam, they will receive a Class 12 permit. All persons who complete the course and exam will receive a ServSafe Alcohol certification.
- Permit holders re-certifying must take the complete course and exam again.
3. How does someone get certified?
- Two ways; ServSafe Alcohol® Washington Online or by taking one a ServSafe Alcohol class. You can find classes in your area here.
4. How much does it cost?
- The ServSafe Alcohol Online Course costs $32 for Washington Restaurant Association members or $40 for non-members. Classroom: $28 member, $35 non-member
- ServSafe Alcohol classes vary per instructor.
5. Where can I find a class?
6. Who pays for the certification?
- The law mandates that all employees who sell or serve alcohol be certified and the permit belongs to the employee, regardless of place of employment, thus it can be considered a condition of employment and the employee should pay.
Employers may choose to cover the cost of the training or pass on their discounted pricing to their employee with the use of their member number.
7. How long is the certificate good for?
- ServSafe Alcohol certifications, Class 12 and Class 13 permits are good for five years from the date of the exam.
8. Myself or my employee got certified already with another course, is it still good?
- Yes, as long as the employee has a valid Class 12 or Class 13 permit that was issued through an approved provider. The ServSafe Alcohol certification is not required by Washington law.
9. Myself or my employee was trained in another state, is it still good?
- Washington state requires that employees have a valid Class 12 or Class 13 permit which is specific to Washington state only. Any permits acquired outside of Washington state are not recognized by Washington state law.
ServSafe Alcohol certifications are recognized in Washington state but do not legally allow a person to serve alcohol in Washington.
10. Why should someone get certified with ServSafe Alcohol?
- ServSafe Alcohol Washington incorporates Washington specific laws and regulations as required in all mandatory alcohol server training programs in Washington state. By providing this state specific training throughout the standard ServSafe Alcohol material, students receive two certifications upon course and exam completion, the ServSafe Alcohol certificate and the Washington state required Class 12 or Class 13 permit.